EFL League One

English Football League One
Sky Bet League One (sponsorship reasons)
England (24 teams)
Number of teams
Level on pyramid
Promotion to
EFL Championship
Relegation to
EFL League Two


English Football League One (often referred to as League One for short or Sky Bet League One for sponsorship reasons) is the second-highest division of the English Football League and the third tier overall in the entire English football league system.

League One was introduced for the 2004–05 season. It was previously known briefly as the Football League Second Division and for much longer, prior to the advent of the Premier League, as the Football League Third Division.

There are 24 clubs in League One (though there are currently 23, due to the explusion of Bury FC). Each club plays every other club twice (once at home and once away). Three points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and zero for a loss. At the end of the season a table of the final League standings is determined, based on the following criteria in this order: points obtained, goal difference, goals scored, an aggregate of the results between two or more clubs (ranked using the previous three criteria) and, finally, a series of one or more play-off matches.

At the end of each season the top two clubs, together with the winner of the play-offs between the clubs which finished in 3rd–6th position, are promoted to EFL Championship and are replaced by the three clubs that finished at the bottom of that division.

Standings last season

Coventry City FC

Coventry City FC
Rotherham United FC
Wycombe Wanderers FC