Gerbeau remains at the head of the FFHG

Acting President of the FFHG since the election of Luc Tardif at the head of the IIHF, Pierre-Yves Gerbeau was re-elected this Saturday by the General Assembly of the federation while his list was the only one in the running.

Pierre-Yves Gerbeau will not leave the seat of president of the FFHG. The former right winger, whose hockey career ended prematurely in the late 1980s due to a serious ankle injury, was confirmed in his role this Saturday at the Assembly General of the French Ice Hockey Federation. A position which the entrepreneur inherited last October when, following his election as President of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) to succeed René Fasel, Luc Tardif had to leave him after fifteen years at the head of the FFHG, which he helped create when ice hockey wanted to get out of the tutelage of the French Ice Sports Federation. An election which was a formality for Pierre-Yves Gerbeau. His “Ambition FFHG” list was the only one to appear in front of the clubs that made the trip for this General Assembly.

A dissident list discarded before the vote

In effect, a second list reported his candidacy in mid-May. Among the figureheads, we could find the journalist of France Televisions and former hockey player Laurent Bellet but also the president of the Brûleurs de Loups de Grenoble Jean-Luc Blache. Their project had the ambition to “bring hockey out of its sports and media hibernation”. However, she was unable to attend. Indeed, according to the FFHG electoral operations monitoring commission, this dissenting list did not respect the imperative of 25% of female candidates in its composition following the withdrawal of three personalities, Guy Dupuis, Christer Eriksson and Aurore Grandvoinet. Consequently, only the list carried by Pierre-Yves Gerbeau was able to stand, with his election which was ratified this Saturday by the General Assembly of the federation, with a new four-year term.

#Gerbeau #remains #FFHG

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.